Arjun Maini steps up to Formula 3 in 2015

    Earlier in the year, he finished fourth in the Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand with two race wins.

    Published On Feb 25, 2015 12:58:00 PM


    Arjun Maini steps up to Formula 3 in 2015

    Indian prodigy Arjun Maini has taken the final seat with Van Amersfoort Racing for this season's Formula 3 European Championship.

    The 17-year-old from Bangalore was the runner-up in the BRDC Formula 4 Championship in his first season of car racing.

    Earlier in the year, he finished fourth in the Toyota Racing Series in New Zealand with two race wins.

    Maini joins Formula Renault ALPS runner-up Charles Leclerc and Italian karting superstar Alessio Lorandi in an extremely youthful all-rookie line-up in VAR's trio of Dallara-Volkswagens.

    The team believes it has the drivers to build on Max Verstappen's third place in the 2014 rankings.

    Team boss Frits van Amersfoort, whose squad never tested Maini, said: "We are thrilled to have Arjun in our team for 2015.

    "We saw in winter testing already his natural speed and he continued that in the TRS - we are proud that another young talent is joining our ranks."

    Maini, who tested F3 machinery with Fortec Motorsport, Carlin and EuroInternational, added: "I'm quite excited to join such an experienced team - they have a lot of attention from the media after what they achieved last year.

    "I am hoping to build on a solid foundation and learn as much as I can in my rookie season in the series."


    Team West-Tec has secured its first driver for its second season in the F3 European Championship.

    German Fabian Schiller steps up from the ADAC Formel Masters series, in which the 17-year-old from near Bonn won three races over the past two seasons.

    West-Tec's John Miller said: "We have known 'Fabi' for several years and were pleased to give him his first F3 tests in 2014. He has always been fast and controlled, and I'm expecting him to be able to challenge well this season."

    The Mercedes-powered West-Tec squad carried Felix Serralles to 12th in the championship last season.

    F3 line-up so far

    Prema Powerteam: Jake Dennis, Lance Stroll, Brandon Maisano, Felix Rosenqvist
    Carlin: Gustavo Menezes, George Russell, Ryan Tveter, Antonio Giovinazzi, Callum Ilott
    Van Amersfoort Racing: Alessio Lorandi, Charles Leclerc, Arjun Maini
    Mucke Motorsport: Michele Beretta, Mikkel Jensen, Santino Ferrucci*
    Team West-Tec: Fabian Schiller
    Fortec Motorsport: TBA
    EuroInternational: TBA
    Double R Racing: Nicolas Pohler, Matt Solomon
    T-Sport: TBA
    Motopark: Sam MacLeod, Markus Pommer, Mahaveer Raghunathan, Sergio Sette Camara, Nabil Jeffri*
    Signature: Alexander Albon, Dorian Boccolacci
    Jo Zeller Racing: TBA
    Ma-Con Motorsport: TBA
    Artline Engineering: TBA

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 959
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe