2021 Formula E: Audi and Venturi pick up Puebla E-Prix wins

    Di Grassi and Mortara won a race each in Mexico, while Porsche’s Wehrlein lost out on his maiden win and a podium result due to penalties.

    Published On Jun 21, 2021 04:52:00 PM


    2021 Formula E: Audi and Venturi pick up Puebla E-Prix wins

    Audi’s Lucas di Grassi and Venturi Racing’s Edoardo Mortara won an E-Prix each, as Formula E witnessed two action-packed rounds in Puebla, Mexico. Elsewhere, Porsche’s Pascal Wehrlein endured a nightmare weekend – losing his maiden win due to a technical infringement, and later losing out on a podium finish due to improper use of FanBoost.

    • Mortara takes Formula E championship lead
    • Wehrlein disqualified due to technical infraction
    • Strong point haul for Mahindra Racing

    Di Grassi wins Puebla E-Prix after Wehrlein disqualified

    Wehrlein looked all set to secure his own, and Porsche’s, first Formula E win. Starting from pole position, he’d successfully held off those behind him and was on course to victory. But at the very last minute, both Porsche cars were disqualified for not declaring their tyres. The team has lodged an appeal against this decision.

    This handed Di Grassi victory – a fitting reward for his incredible charge up the order. Battling his way up from 9th on the grid, he moved up to 6th place after overtaking Mahindra Racing’s Alexander Sims on the run up to Turn 1. He continued gaining position after passing Jaguar’s Mitch Evans in similar fashion and later taking advantage of the battle between Maximilian Gunther and Edoardo Mortara.

    With just a minute to go, he successfully passed Mortara to move up to 2nd place and position himself to eventually seal victory thanks to Wehrlein’s disqualification. This is Di Grassi’s third win in Mexico, and his first since the 2019 Berlin E-Prix.

    Rene Rast crossed the line just 0.497 secs adrift to hand Audi a 1-2 finish, while Mortara finished 3rd for Venturi.

    Mortara takes championship lead with win in Mexico

    The second Puebla E-Prix saw Mortara and Venturi Racing master strategy to win the race. Taking advantage of the battle between Nissan’s Oliver Rowland and Wehrlein, Mortara timed his second attack mode activation perfectly to take the lead.

    Wehrlein kept the pressure on him, but Mortara was able to fend off the Porsche driver to take his second Formula E win. With this, Mortara now jumps to the top of the drivers’ championship, 10 points clear of Virgin Racing’s Robin Frijns.

    A 2nd place finish seemed like a strong rebound for Wehrlein, but unfortunately, there was more heartbreak in store for him. He was handed a time penalty for improper use of FanBoost, dropping him down to 4th place. This promoted Virgin Racing rookie Nick Cassidy to 2nd and Rowland to 3rd.

    Strong points finish for Mahindra Racing

    It was a challenging weekend for Mahindra Racing’s Alexander Sims. He missed out on a significant portion of practice due to a reported battery issue and even made contact with Jean-Eric Vergne during the first race. But the pace came to him in the closing stages and went on to bag 4th place. Unfortunately, Sims retired from the next race after sustaining damage following contact with Andre Lotterer.

    Alex Lynn, meanwhile, had pulled off a strong recovery drive, overcoming a puncture, to go from 16th to 10th in the first race. He went on to collect another handful of points in the next race with a 6th place result.

    Overall, the Indian team walked away from Mexico with a decent points haul and now stands 9th in the championship, ahead of Nissan, Dragon and Nio 333.

    2021 Puebla E-Prix results

    Puebla E-Prix, Round 8 results
    1Lucai di GrassiAudi
    2Rene RastAudi
    3Edoardo MortaraVenturi Racing
    4Alexander SimsMahindra Racing
    5Jake DennisBMW i Andretti
    6Antonio Felix da CostaDS Techeetah
    7Stoffel VandoorneMercedes EQ
    8Mitch EvansJaguar Racing
    9Nyck de VriesMercedes EQ
    10Alex LynnMahindra Racing
    11Oliver TurveyNio 333
    12Maximilian GuntherBMW i Andretti
    13Tom BlomqvistNio 333
    14Norman NatoVenturi Racing
    15Sergio Sette CamaraDragon
    16Robin FrijnsVirgin Racing
    17Joel ErikssonDragon

    Puebla E-Prix, Round 9 results
    1Edoardo MortaraVenturi Racing
    2Nick CassidyVirgin Racing
    3Oliver RowlandNissan
    4Pascal WehrleinPorsche
    5Jake DennisBMW i Andretti
    6Alex LynnMahindra Racing
    7Maximilian GuntherBMW i Andretti
    8Jean-Eric VergneDS Techeetah
    9Mitch EvansJaguar Racing
    10Rene RastAudi
    11Robin FrijnsVirgin Racing
    12Sam BirdJaguar Racing
    13Stoffel VandoorneMercedes EQ
    14Sebastien BuemiNissan
    15Joel ErikssonDragon
    16Sergio Sette CamaraDragon
    17Andre LottererPorsche
    18Lucas di GrassiAudi


    Also see:

    McLaren to race in Extreme E from 2022

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1306
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe