2019 INRC Round 2: Chetan Shivram wins Rally of Coimbatore

    A tightly contested 2019 Rally of Coimbatore saw Chetan Shivram defeat Younus Ilyas to clinch victory.

    Published On Aug 12, 2019 05:59:00 PM


    2019 INRC Round 2: Chetan Shivram wins Rally of Coimbatore

    The 2019 Champions Yacht Club FMSCI Indian National Rally Championship (INRC) resumed with its second round taking place in Coimbatore. After two action-packed days, Team Akshara’s Chetan Shivram (co-driver Dilip Sharan) emerged victorious, winning the Rally of Coimbatore with a total time of 1 hour 33.51 mins.

    Shivram inherited the lead on the first day after Mahindra Adventure’s Gaurav Gill (co-driver Musa Sherif) was forced to pull out of the rally. Gill set the pace early on, setting the fastest time in the first three stages , but then his rally-spec Mahindra XUV300 picked up a puncture and a subsequent mechanical issue resulted in him having to retire from the rally. 

    Heading into the second day, Shivram held a lead of just four seconds over Suhem Kabeer (co-driver Jeeva Rathinam). However, the latter got stuck in slush in the final day’s first stage itself, losing six minutes as a result. Shivram was then under pressure from Younus Ilyas (co-driver Harish Gowda). Ilyas even managed a win a couple of stages on the final day, but Shivram ultimately gained the upper hand and took victory by a margin of just 4.6 seconds. 

    A time of 1 hour 33.56 seconds was enough to hand Ilyas second place overall and victory in the INRC 2 category. Meanwhile, Team Champions’ Fabid Ahmer (co-driver Sanath G) finished third overall and bagged 2nd place in INRC 3. Round 1 winner Dean Mascarenhas (co-driver Shruptha Padival) had dropped to the bottom of the standings at the end of the first day after his car got stuck in slush, but a stellar comeback drive saw him gain 32 places  to finish 2nd in the INRC 2 category and 10th overall. Meanwhile, Vaibhav Marate (co-driver Arjun SSB) took victory in the INRC 4 category for a second consecutive time.


    INRC Overall
    1) Chetan Shivram & Dilip Sharan – 1:33:51.700hr; 2) Younus Ilyas & Harish Gowda – 1:33:56.300 hr; 3) Fabid Ahmer & Sanath G. – 1:34:54.400 hr
    INRC 2
    1) Younus Ilyas & Harish Gowda – 1:33:56.300; 2) Dean Mascarenhas & Shruptha Padival – 1:28:33.800 hr; 3) Suhem Kabeer & Jeeva Rathinam – 1:40:17.000hr

    INRC 3  
    1) Chetan Shivram & Dilip Sharan – 1:33:51.700hr; 2) Fabid Ahmer & Sanath G. – 1:34:54.400 hr; 3) Aditya Thakur & Virender Kashyap – 1:35:57.700 hr
    INRC 4
    1) Vaibhav Marate & Arjun SSB – 1:38:27.000hr; 2) Manoj Mohanan & Francis Sachin – 1:39:36.300 hr; 3)Rakshith Iyer & Chandrashekar – 1:40:17.000

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 1060
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe