MotoGP: Lorenzo wins the Spanish GP at Jerez

MotoGP: Lorenzo wins the Spanish GP at Jerez

4th May 2015 1:25 pm

The Yamaha rider had been quickest in three practice sessions, took a straightforward pole, and carried that commanding form into the race.

Jorge Lorenzo revitalised his MotoGP title bid by dominating the Spanish Grand Prix at Jerez.

The Yamaha rider had been quickest in three of the first three practice sessions, took a straightforward pole, and carried that commanding form into the race.

Lorenzo fended off Marc Marquez through the opening laps and then had little trouble extending a four-second lead that he nursed to the finish to earn a first win since last October's Japanese GP. 

Despite needing surgery on a fractured finger following a motocross crash just eight days ago, Marquez was able to claim second for Honda.

Valentino Rossi picked his way through to third but could not catch Marquez, although the result still gave him a record 200th podium at grand prix level.

Cal Crutchlow emerged from an early battle with Pol Espargaro to claim fourth for LCR Honda.

Ducati expected Jerez to be a tough circuit and its factory riders made life harder for themselves with mistakes.

Andrea Iannone tumbled down the order with a poor start from the front row, while Andrea Dovizioso ended up last when he slid through the gravel on lap one.

Iannone recovered to sixth, catching Espargaro at the end, and Dovizioso battled back to ninth.

Aleix Espargaro resisted pressure from Bradley Smith to take seventh for Suzuki.

The best battle of the race was a five-way scrap between the Pramac Ducatis of Danilo Petrucci and Yonny Hernandez, Maverick Vinales' Suzuki, Scott Redding's Marc VDS Honda and Hector Barbera's Avintia Ducati for 10th.

Hernandez fought his way to the front of the queue by the end to complete the top 10.


Pos Rider Team Bike Gap
1 Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha Yamaha 44m57.246s
2 Marc Marquez Honda Honda 5.576s
3 Valentino Rossi Yamaha Yamaha 11.586s
4 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 22.727s
5 Pol Espargaro Tech 3 Yamaha 26.620s
6 Andrea Iannone Ducati Ducati 27.021s
7 Aleix Espargaro Suzuki Suzuki 35.445s
8 Bradley Smith Tech 3 Yamaha 36.296s
9 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati Ducati 41.933s
10 Yonny Hernandez Pramac Racing Ducati 51.072s
11 Maverick Vinales Suzuki Suzuki 51.674s
12 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Racing Ducati 52.421s
13 Scott Redding Marc VDS Honda 53.052s
14 Hector Barbera Avintia Racing Ducati 53.200s
15 Alvaro Bautista Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 57.344s
16 Stefan Bradl Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 59.018s
17 Nicky Hayden Aspar Honda 1m01.506s
18 Eugene Laverty Aspar Honda 1m03.163s
19 Marco Melandri Aprilia Gresini Aprilia 1m06.895s
20 Jack Miller LCR Honda 1m14.182s
21 Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Project ART/Aprilia 1m26.832s
22 Mike Di Meglio Avintia Racing Ducati 1 Lap
- Hiroshi Aoyama Honda Honda Retirement
- Loris Baz Forward Racing Yamaha Forward Retirement
- Karel Abraham AB Motoracing Honda Retirement


Pos Rider Points
1 Valentino Rossi 82
2 Andrea Dovizioso 67
3 Jorge Lorenzo 62
4 Marc Marquez 56
5 Andrea Iannone 50
6 Cal Crutchlow 47
7 Bradley Smith 36
8 Aleix Espargaro 31
9 Pol Espargaro 26
10 Maverick Vinales 20
11 Danilo Petrucci 19
12 Scott Redding 13
13 Yonny Hernandez 12
14 Daniel Pedrosa 10
15 Hector Barbera 10
16 Jack Miller 6
17 Hiroshi Aoyama 5
18 Nicky Hayden 3
19 Loris Baz 2
20 Alvaro Bautista 2
21 Stefan Bradl 1


Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.

Tell us what you think.