Mark takes pole in Monaco

    Red Bull stays unbeaten in qualifying in 2010 after Webber takes pole in Monaco.

    Published On May 15, 2010 07:00:00 AM


    Red Bull remains unbeaten in qualifying in 2010 after Mark Webber fended off a huge challenge from Renault's Robert Kubica to take pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix.

    Kubica looked like a strong favourite for a shock underdog pole as his early Q3 time put him a massive 1.1sec clear of the field. He started improving even more on his next run, but Webber was going faster still, sneaking ahead with a 1m14.104sec.

    Kubica's response was a 1m14.120sec, leaving him second, with Webber then making certain of the top spot by producing a 1m13.826sec with his final lap of the hour, as he maintained his momentum after dominating in Spain.
    Sebastian Vettel took third in the second Red Bull, ahead of Q1 leader Felipe Massa, who was Ferrari's only representative in the session following the practice crash that left Fernando Alonso on the sidelines with a damaged chassis.

    McLaren had a disappointing session, with Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button back in fifth and eighth, split by the Mercedes. Nico Rosberg beat Michael Schumacher this time, albeit by just 0.046sec.

    Rubens Barrichello showed Williams's strongest dry weather form of the year by taking ninth, with his rookie team-mate Nico Hulkenberg also driving well for 11th.

    Tonio Liuzzi put his recent qualifying troubles behind him by completing the top ten, as his Force India team-mate Adrian Sutil missed Q3 for the second time in a week and lined up 12th.

    Monaco F1 qualifying times
    1. Webber (Red Bull-Renault) 1:13.826
    2. Kubica (Renault) 1:14.120
    3. Vettel (Red Bull-Renault) 1:14.227
    4. Massa (Ferrari) 1:14.283
    5. Hamilton (McLaren-Mercedes) 1:14.432
    6. Rosberg (Mercedes) 1:14.544
    7. Schumacher (Mercedes) 1:14.590
    8. Button (McLaren-Mercedes) 1:14.637
    9. Barrichello (Williams-Cosworth) 1:14.901
    10. Liuzzi (Force India-Mercedes) 1:15.170

    11. Hulkenberg (Williams-Cosworth) 1:15.317
    12. Sutil (Force India-Mercedes) 1:15.318
    13. Buemi (Toro Rosso-Ferrari) 1:15.413
    14. Petrov (Renault) 1:15.576
    15. de la Rosa (Sauber-Ferrari) 1:15.692
    16. Kobayashi (Sauber-Ferrari) 1:15.992
    17. Alguersuari (Toro Rosso-Ferrari)1:16.176

    18. Kovalainen (Lotus-Cosworth) 1:17.094
    19. Trulli (Lotus-Cosworth) 1:17.134
    20. Glock (Virgin-Cosworth) 1:17.377
    21. di Grassi (Virgin-Cosworth) 1:17.864
    22. Senna (HRT-Cosworth) 1:18.509
    23. Chandhok (HRT-Cosworth) 1:19.559
    24. Alonso (Ferrari) No time

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Would you buy a CNG bike?

    Yes, the running costs are too good to ignore.



    No, CNG comes with too many compromises.



    EVs are more affordable to run and greener



    Total Votes : 1187
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe