2012 F1 calendar announced

    2012 F1 calendar announced

    Published On Aug 31, 2011 07:00:00 AM


    2012 F1 calendar announced

    Following a fax vote by members of the World Motor Sport Council, the FIA has confirmed the 20-race calendar for the 2012 Formula 1 season. As expected, the Turkish Grand Prix has been dropped after being a part of the world championship since 2005, replaced by the United States GP to be hosted at the under-construction Circuit of the Americas in Austin, Texas.

    Bahrain has been relieved of its season-opener status after political unrest led to the round being dropped this year, with the Albert Park circuit in Australia taking up the mantel in 2012.

    The mid-season break comes after the Hungarian Grand Prix on 29th July, with the season resuming for the Belgian GP scheduled on 2nd September. The placement of the proposed in-season tests, though, still has to be finalised (including the decision on testing itself).

    The Indian GP has also been moved from its early proposed date of April to its usual slot in October, something which FMSCI (Indian ASN) president Vicky Chandhok had voiced concerns about at the time when the proposed calendar was submitted to the teams ahead of the Hungarian GP. April marks the onset of summer in north India, where the newly-construced Buddh International Circuit is located - with high temperature possibly making conditions unsuitable for an F1 race.

    2012 Formula 1 season:

    DateGrand Prix
    18th MarchAustralia
    25th March Malaysia
    15th AprilChina
    22nd AprilBahrain
    13th MaySpain
    27th MayMonaco
    10th JuneCanada
    24th JuneEuropean
    8th JulyGreat Britain
    22nd JulyGermany
    29th JulyHungary
    2nd SeptemberBelgium
    9th SeptemberItaly
    23rd SeptemberSingapore
    7th OctoberJapan
    14th OctoberKorea
    28th OctoberIndia
    4th NovemberAbu Dhabi
    18th NovemberUnited States
    25th NovemberBrazil


    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1167
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe