Heidfeld gets Mahindra Formula E seat

    Ex-F1 racer Heidfeld finished 12th in the first season of Formula E with Venturi team.

    Published On Aug 10, 2015 07:41:00 PM


    Heidfeld gets Mahindra Formula E seat

    Nick Heidfeld has signed for the Mahindra Racing Formula E squad, having left the Venturi team that signed 1997 Formula 1 world champion Jacques Villeneuve last week.

    Ex-F1 racer Heidfeld, who finished 12th in the first season of Formula E with Venturi, took a single podium finish and was famously involved in a dramatic final corner crashfighting for victory in the championship's inaugural race in China.

    Venturi announced on Friday it had signed Villeneuve to race alongside Stephane Sarrazin, but Heidfeld hinted over the weekend that he would be staying in the series.

    The German will partner returning Mahindra driver Bruno Senna in the 2015/16 FE season, with Karun Chandhok making way in the team's line-up.

    Senna finished 10th in the series last season, while Mahindra was classified eighth of the 10 teams competing.

    Mahindra team boss Dilbagh Gill said:"We've been working to get Nick for quite some time because we are looking to move our performance up this year, and he has done quite a bit of testing for us over the summer."

    Gill said Chandhok would "remain part of the Mahindra extended family".

    Official pre-season testing commences today at Donington Park, with Heidfeld and Villeneuve both in action with their new teams.

    McLaren F1 tester Oliver Turvey, who made his debut in the series at London's season finale, will drive the second NEXTEV TCR entry, while ABT Schaeffler AS, Andretti Formula E, Team Aguri and Trulli Formula E will all field just a single car.


    ABT Schaeffler AS Lucas di Grassi
    Andretti Formula E Simona de Silvestro
    Dragon Racing Jerome D'Ambrosio, Loic Duval
    DS Virgin Racing Sam Bird, Jean-Eric Vergne
    Mahindra Racing Nick Heidfeld, Bruno Senna
    NEXTEV TCR Nelson Piquet Jr, Oliver Turvey
    Renault e.Dams Sebastien Buemi, Nicolas Prost
    Team Aguri Salvador Duran
    Trulli Formula E Jarno Trulli
    Venturi Formula E Stephane Sarrazin, Jacques Villeneuve

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 2783
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe