F1: Magnussen to replace Maldonado at Renault

    It was revealed last week that Magnussen was set to usurp Maldonado, pending the completion of negotiations and signing of a contract.

    Published On Feb 01, 2016 06:07:00 PM


    F1: Magnussen to replace Maldonado at Renault

    Kevin Magnussen will officially be unveiled as a Renault driver on Wednesday ahead of the new Formula 1 season, replacing Pastor Maldonado.

    It was revealed last week that Magnussen was set to usurp Maldonado, pending the completion of negotiations and signing of a contract.

    Sources have confirmed the 23-year-old Dane has now put pen to paper on a deal for the 2016 campaign in which he will partner Jolyon Palmer.

    The two drivers will be presented when Renault launches its car in Paris on Wednesday, with ART chief Frederic Vasseur to also be named as racing director.

    Magnussen's appointment brings him back into F1 four months after losing his McLaren reserve role when the team turned to Stoffel Vandoorne to support Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button.

    After five seasons in F1, Maldonado now finds himself without a drive following a dispute over payments and the way forward between long-time sponsor PDVSA, Venezuela's state-owned oil and gas company, and Renault.

    Although Maldonado was confirmed as a driver for this season at last year's Singapore Grand Prix, that contract was linked to PDVSA's funding.

    Maldonado's only hope of remaining in F1 for this season is with Manor as the team has yet to announce its 2016 driver line-up.

    The clock is ticking with the first pre-season test at Barcelona's Catalunya circuit just three weeks away.


    Mercedes: Lewis Hamilton, Nico Rosberg
    Ferrari: Sebastian Vettel, Kimi Raikkonen
    Williams-Mercedes: Valtteri Bottas, Felipe Massa
    Red Bull-TAG (Renault): Daniil Kvyat, Daniel Ricciardo
    Force India-Mercedes: Sergio Perez, Nico Hulkenberg
    Renault: Kevin Magnussen, Jolyon Palmer
    Toro Rosso-Ferrari: Max Verstappen, Carlos Sainz Jr
    Sauber-Ferrari: Felipe Nasr, Marcus Ericsson
    McLaren-Honda: Fernando Alonso, Jenson Button
    Manor-Mercedes: tba
    Haas-Ferrari: Romain Grosjean, Esteban Gutierrez

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.


    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now
    Search By Car Price
    Poll of the month

    Which was your favourite Car, SUV at Auto Expo 2023

    Maruti Suzuki Jimny



    Maruti Suzuki Fronx



    Maruti Suzuki eVX concept



    Tata Harrier EV



    Tata Sierra



    Hyundai Ioniq 5



    Hyundai Ioniq 6



    Kia EV9 concept






    Toyota Land Cruiser 300



    Total Votes : 4189
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe