Prasad, Mandody dominate Euro17 and LGBF4 in round 1 of JK National Racing

    Joseph Mathew and Sri Lanka’s Jaden Gunawardena aced the Suzuki Gixxer Cup and Rookies races, respectively.

    Published On Jul 10, 2017 02:22:00 PM


    The first Sunday of the 2017 JK Tyre National Racing Championship witnessed Vishnu Prasad and Chittesh Mandody dominating the 1600cc Euro17 and Formula LGB4 races, respectively. Here’s the class-wise lowdown of Round 1 held at Coimbatore’s Kari Speedway.

    Euro JK17
    Vishnu Prasad started sixth in the reverse-grid Race 3, just behind Nayan Chatterjee (P5) and Anindith Reddy (P4) who were on his tail all through Saturday.

    The race commenced with Vikash Anand on pole. Anand held his position until lap 7, where he went off the track on the last corner and lost his lead to Akash Gowda and Vishnu Prasad. Vishnu went on to overtake Gowda in lap 9 and the top three positions remained unchanged. Defending champion Anindith Reddy secured a distant fourth.

    Prasad, pole-sitter for the final Round 1 race, secured a lights-to-flag victory and even clocked the fastest lap of the day (1:01.246 minutes). Reddy, having started fourth, made it past two racers and secured second, closely followed by Nayan Chatterjee.

    LGB F4
    Race 2 of the LGBF4 started with Diljith S, Saran Vikram and Raghul Rangasamy in the lead. But by lap 4, Vishnu Prasad had found his way into third, and by lap 8, had Kolhapur’s Chittesh Mandody right behind him. Diljith and Saran crashed into each other around the same time, which allowed Prasad to take the lead, with Mandody hot on his heels. Mandody slipped past Prasad in the final lap to claim his second victory of Round 1.

    Hecontinued his winning streak in the crash-fraught Race 3 of the LGBF4 class. Mandody, followed by Vishnu Prasad and Sandeep Kumar, set off to a strong start but the tail-end saw a four-car pile-up at C2 on the very first lap; the race was red-flagged and restarted. The first lap after the restart witnessed Yash Aradhya’s car number 17 crash and cartwheel into the very first corner, resulting in the second red flag and restart of the race. From there on, it was a fight between Mandody and Prasad, which Saran Vikram barged into. In lap 9, the trio dived into C1 together, with Mandody emerging just ahead of Saran. Prasad, however, passed Saran soon after to finish second, behind Mandody.

    Suzuki Gixxer Cup
    Chennai’s Joseph Mathew (last year’s Gixxer Cup winner) won a hard fought battle with Aizawl’s Malsawmdawngliana and Lalmawipuia, who crossed the finish line in second and third positions.

    Red Bull Road to Rookie Cup
    There was no shaking Sri Lanka’s Jaden Gunawardena from his pole position, as he crossed the finish line a good 3.235sec ahead of his closest challenger, Varoon S. This is the second Road to Rookies leg for the 14-year-old Chennai lad, who, like last year, impressed on the race-spec Gixxer SF. He finished just ahead of Aizawl’s Lalhruaizela.

    Euro JK 17
    Race 3:
    1. Vishnu Prasad;
    2. Akash Gowda;
    3. Vikash Anand;

    Race 4:
    1. Vishnu Prasad;
    2. Anindith Reddy K;
    3. Nayan S Chatterjee;

    Race 2:
    1. Chittesh Mandody;
    2. Vishnu Prasad;
    3. Sandeep Kumar;

    Race 3:
    1. Chittesh Mandody;
    2. Vishnu Prasad;
    3. Saran Vikram;

    Redbull Road to Rookies Cup

    Race 2
    1. Jaden Gunawardena;
    2. Varoon S;
    3. Lalhruaizela;

    Suzuki Gixxer Cup

    Race 2
    1. Joseph Matthew;
    2. Malsawmdawngliana;
    3. Lalmawipuia

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1075
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe