Ishaan Dodhiwala wins Round 4, Race 1, Vento Cup 2016

    Karminder Singh and Aditya Vijay Pawar finish second and third; race 2 on October 2, 2016.

    Published On Oct 01, 2016 10:09:00 PM


    After three rounds – first at Kari Speedway, second and third at the MMRT, the Volkswagen Vento Cup has come to the Buddh International Circuit for its fourth and final weekend for 2016. In the first of the two races this weekend, Ishaan Dodhiwala managed to seal a comfortable victory, a good 11 seconds ahead of Delhi boy, Karminder Singh. The podium was completed by Aditya Pawar, who started eighth, but impressively made his way past the competition. He crossed the chequered flag six seconds behind Karminder.

    Ishan led the grid right from the qualifier, and maintained a strong lead during the race from start to finish, widening the gap between himself and Karminder, his chief rival, lap after lap.

    The line-up behind the top two saw stiff competition between Keith Desouza, Gowdham Murugan, Aditya Pawar and guest driver, Rishaad Mody, who exchanged positions multiple times, fighting for spots three and four. However, Aditya overtook Gowdham between lap 4 and 5 before slipping past Keith. Aditya finally overtook Rishaad at the last corner of the last lap to bag his spot on the podium.

    Jeet Jhabakh, 23, who started tenth on the grid, secured the Junior Drivers Vento Cup title and a sponsored place in the 2017 season of Volkswagen’s one-make series.

    The tenth and final Vento Cup 2016 race takes place on October 2. Here’s a look at the results for Round 4, Race 1.

    Pos.  Car Number  Name                                     Total Time

    1        8                      Ishaan Dodhiwala                19:51.066
    2      16                     Karminder Singh                   20:02.198
    3       7                       Aditya Vijay Pawar              20:08.234
    4       21                     Rishaad Mody                    20:08.881
    5       12                     Gowdham Murugan             20:10.878
    6       11                      Keith Desouza                       20:11.771
    7       15                      Affan Sadat Safwan Islam   20:19.605
    8       18                      Niranjan Todkari                  20:20.137
    9       10                     Arfath Mohammad               20:21.018
    10     1                       Rashad Khan                       20:22.152
    11      5                       Jeet Jhabakh                       20:35.332
    12     17                      Arunshowry Vallabhaneni     20:35.882
    13     22                      Simran Rastogi                   20:42.200
    14     6                        Hatim Shabbir                     20:42.654
    15     9                        Sree Venkata Teja               20:45.564
    16     3                        Amit Mete                            21:41.797
    17    19                      Shreyas Venkatesh               21:54.413
    18     20                      Pradeep Rao                       DNC

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 698
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe