Indian GP: Red Bull one-two in FP1

    Sebastian Vettel got off to a good start by holding off Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg to claim the top spot in FP1 for the Indian GP.

    Published On Oct 25, 2013 05:18:00 PM


    Indian GP: Red Bull one-two in FP1

    Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber held off the Mercedes and Lotus challenge to give Red Bull a one-two in opening practice for the Indian Grand Prix.

    Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg ensured that Vettel did not have things all his own way during the mid-session short runs when most of the quick laps were set.

    Rosberg did a 1m27.937s then a 1m27.217s in quick succession to remove the McLarens from their early position on top.

    Vettel then beat his compatriot by 0.021 seconds, but within a minute Rosberg went quicker again and produced a 1m26.899s on the 10th lap of his run.

    After a slower lap, Vettel got back up to speed again with a 1m26.683s that would keep him ahead for the rest of the morning.

    Webber then snuck his Red Bull between the two Germans in the closing minutes.

    Romain Grosjean was fourth for Lotus, while team-mate Kimi Raikkonen never attempted a lower-fuel run and was 1.7s slower in 17th.

    Lewis Hamilton had also languished in the midfield for much of the session, before jumping to sixth late on, just ahead of Jenson Button and Sergio Perez's McLarens.

    It was a tough start for Ferrari, with Felipe Massa eighth and Fernando Alonso sidelined by a gearbox problem after six laps.

    Williams got itself into the top 10 with Valtteri Bottas just behind Nico Hulkenberg's Sauber in 10th. Bottas's team-mate Pastor Maldonado also had a spell in the top half of the field, though he also had a spin.

    James Calado was the session's other spinner, as he stood in for the unwell Paul di Resta at Force India.

    Pos Driver                  Team                     Time        Gap    Laps
     1. Sebastian Vettel        Red Bull-Renault         1m26.683s           24
     2. Mark Webber             Red Bull-Renault         1m26.871s  +0.188s  17
     3. Nico Rosberg            Mercedes                 1m26.899s  +0.216s  23
     4. Romain Grosjean         Lotus-Renault            1m26.990s  +0.307s  20
     5. Lewis Hamilton          Mercedes                 1m27.227s  +0.544s  21
     6. Jenson Button           McLaren-Mercedes         1m27.335s  +0.652s  23
     7. Sergio Perez            McLaren-Mercedes         1m27.416s  +0.733s  23
     8. Felipe Massa            Ferrari                  1m27.692s  +1.009s  21
     9. Nico Hulkenberg         Sauber-Ferrari           1m27.770s  +1.087s  19
    10. Valtteri Bottas         Williams-Renault         1m27.800s  +1.117s  23
    11. Jean-Eric Vergne        Toro Rosso-Ferrari       1m28.035s  +1.352s  25
    12. Fernando Alonso         Ferrari                  1m28.214s  +1.531s   6
    13. Daniel Ricciardo        Toro Rosso-Ferrari       1m28.336s  +1.653s  18
    14. Pastor Maldonado        Williams-Renault         1m28.342s  +1.659s  21
    15. Adrian Sutil            Force India-Mercedes     1m28.468s  +1.785s  20
    16. Esteaban Gutierrez      Sauber-Ferrari           1m28.538s  +1.855s  18
    17. Kimi Raikkonen          Lotus-Renault            1m28.730s  +2.047s  18
    18. James Calado            Force India-Mercedes     1m29.197s  +2.514s  22
    19. Giedgo van der Garde    Caterham-Renault         1m29.413s  +2.730s  24
    20. Jules Bianchi           Marussia-Cosworth        1m29.560s  +2.877s  20
    21. Charles Pic             Caterham-Renault         1m30.026s  +3.343s  23
    22. Max Chilton             Marussia-Cosworth        1m30.471s  +3.788s  17


    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1362
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe