Hong Kong ePrix: Mahindra take victory following Abt's disqualification

    A post race inspection revealed a technical rules breach on part of the Audi Sport Abt team, thereby handing the race win to Rosenqvist.

    Published On Dec 03, 2017 05:43:00 PM


    Hong Kong ePrix: Mahindra take victory following Abt's disqualification

    Mahindra Racing’s Felix Rosenqvist has been handed victory for the second Formula E race in Hong Kong after Daniel Abt’s disqualification due to a technical rules infringement.

    Abt had claimed his maiden victory in the series, and Audi Sport Abt's first as a works Formula E team, after long-time leader Edoardo Mortara spun late in the race. However, a post-race inspection revealed that the FIA security stickers on the inverters and motors did not correspond with those declared on one of his car's technical passport – a breach of the series' technical and sporting regulations.

    Rosenqvist thus claims his second Formula E win, completing an unusual race for the Mahindra driver after he spun out of the lead at the first corner at the start of the race and recovered to second. Mortara inherits second place, while Mitch Evans is promoted to the podium - Jaguar's first in the series.

    Abt's victory had launched him to the top of the championship after two races, but his exclusion means Saturday race winner Sam Bird now heads the table on 35 points, two points clear of Jean-Eric Vergne.

    It has also gifted 2015/16 champion Sebastien Buemi 10th place, meaning he at least has a solitary point to show for a disappointing opening weekend.

    It’s been an overall positive weekend for Mahindra Racing, which also secured a podium in the first race of the opening weekend, with Nick Heidfeld bagging third place. DS Virgin Racing’s Sam Bird won the season opener, despite serving a drivethrough penalty after he overshot his pitbox mark during the mid-race car swap. Bird, who managed to gain the race lead from poleman Jean-Eric Vergne over the first half of the race, still emerged ahead of the battling duo of Vergne and Heidfield, and went on to win the race.

    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    What do you think of Lewis Hamilton’s move to Ferrari?

    He’ll win his 8th F1 title with Ferrari



    He should have stayed with Mercedes



    No difference; Verstappen will still win the title



    Total Votes : 1134
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe