Davidson and Buemi clinch FIA World Endurance title

    The duo cannot be caught for the title at the Interlagos series finale later this month.

    Published On Nov 16, 2014 01:13:00 PM


    Davidson and Buemi clinch FIA World Endurance title

    Toyota drivers Anthony Davidson and Sebastien Buemi were crowned 2014 World Endurance champions despite finishing only 11th in Bahrain.

    Their Toyota TS040 HYBRID was delayed in the second hour by the need to change the alternator, but the failure of their only rivals for the title, Audi trio Andre Lotterer, Benoit Treluyer and Marcel Fassler, to finish second or higher means that Davidson and Buemi cannot be caught at the Interlagos series finale later this month.

    Davidson said: "It hasn't sunk in yet — I couldn't bring myself to think it would happen.

    "I've won big single events before but never a championship since I started racing cars.

    "It is amazing: I can die happy now."

    The race was won by the second Toyota shared by Alex Wurz, Mike Conway and Stephane Sarrazin by 50 seconds from the Porsche 919 Hybrid of Neel Jani, Romain Dumas and Marc Lieb.

    They were in front for much of the race despite making an early pitstop during a full course yellow period, which replaced the splash-and-dash that they would have need at the finish.

    Jani was within striking range of Wurz after his final pitstop, but the clear advantage for the Toyota was restored once the Porsche made its splash with 20 minutes to go.

    The second Porsche, shared by Mark Webber, Timo Bernhard and Brendon Hartley, finished less than seven seconds behind the sister car despite being on a different strategy.

    Jani rejoined after his splash just ahead of Webber, but the Australian was powerless to challenge because he was on old tyres at the end of a double stint.

    The Audi R18 e-tron quattros were again unable to challenge for a podium.

    Lotterer and his co-drivers had the edge on team-mates Loic Duval, Lucas di Grassi and Tom Kristensen on the way to fourth.


    The KCMG ORECA team notched up its second LMP2 victory of the season with Alex Imperatori, Richard Bradley and Matt Howson aboard its ORECA-Nissan 03R, after coming out on top in a battle with the similar SMP car driven by Nicolas Minassian, Maurizio Mediani and Sergey Zlobin.

    The SMP ORECA dropped out in the closing stages with gearbox problems and wasn't classified, allowing its sister car to move up to second.

    Gianmaria Bruni and Toni Vilander wrapped up the GT drivers' crown with another victory aboard their AF Corse Ferrari 458 Italia.

    They completed the six-hour race on one stop fewer than pursuers Darren Turner and Stefan Mucke in the lead Aston Martin Vantage GTE.

    Turner's chase of Vilander after making his final stop with 45 minutes to go brought him to within two seconds of the Ferrari.

    Danish Aston Martin drivers David Heinemeier Hansson and Kristian Poulsen took the GTE Am title with their fourth win of the season with fellow countryman Nicki Thiim.

    RESULTS - 195 LAPS:

    1LMP1A.Wurz, S.Sarrazin, M.ConwayToyota RacingToyota6h00m18.056s
    2LMP1R.Dumas, N.Jani, M.LiebPorsche TeamPorsche50.460s
    3LMP1T.Bernhard, M.Webber, B.HartleyPorsche TeamPorsche57.268s
    4LMP1M.Fassler, A.Lotterer, B.TreluyerAudi Sport Team JoestAudi1 Lap
    5LMP1L.di Grassi, L.Duval, T.KristensenAudi Sport Team JoestAudi2 Laps
    6LMP1D.Kraihamer, A.Belicchi, F.LeimerRebellion RacingRebellion/Toyota7 Laps
    7LMP1N.Prost, N.Heidfeld, M.BecheRebellion RacingRebellion/Toyota13 Laps
    8LMP2M.Howson, R.Bradley, A.ImperatoriKCMGOreca/Nissan14 Laps
    9LMP2K.Ladygin, V.Shaitar, A.LadyginSMP RacingOreca/Nissan17 Laps
    10LMP2M.Patterson, K.Ihara, D.ChengOak RacingMorgan/Judd17 Laps
    11LMP1A.Davidson, S.BuemiToyota RacingToyota18 Laps
    12LMP2R.Rusinov, O.Pla, J.CanalG-Drive RacingLigier/Nissan18 Laps
    13GTE ProG.Bruni, T.VilanderAF CorseFerrari22 Laps
    14GTE ProD.Turner, S.MuckeAston Martin RacingAston Martin22 Laps
    15GTE ProD.Rigon, J.CaladoAF CorseFerrari22 Laps
    16GTE ProJ.Bergmeister, R.LietzPorsche Team MantheyPorsche22 Laps
    17GTE ProF.Makowiecki, P.PiletPorsche Team MantheyPorsche23 Laps
    18GTE AmK.Poulsen, D.Hansson, N.ThiimAston Martin RacingAston Martin23 Laps
    19GTE AmS.Wyatt, M.Rugolo, A.BertoliniAF CorseFerrari24 Laps
    20GTE AmP.D.Lana, P.Lamy, C.NygaardAston Martin RacingAston Martin24 Laps
    21GTE AmC.Ried, K.Bachler, K.Al QubaisiProton CompetitionPorsche25 Laps
    22GTE AmG.Roda, P.Ruberti, M.Cressoni8 Star MotorsportsFerrari25 Laps
    23GTE AmA.Talkanitsa Jr., A.P.Guidi, J.SegalAF CorseFerrari25 Laps
    24GTE ProA.MacDowall, F.Rees, A.Al FaisalAston Martin RacingAston Martin25 Laps
    25GTE AmF.Perrodo, E.Collard, M.VaxiviereProspeed CompetitionPorsche25 Laps
    -LMP2S.Zlobin, N.Minassian, M.MedianiSMP RacingOreca/NissanRetirement
    -LMP1P.Kaffer, S.Trummer, N.BerthonLotusLotus/AERRetirement


    Copyright (c) Autosport. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    The Mahindra XUV 300 facelift will be called the XUV 3XO. Should more brands rename models for facelifts?

    Yes, it could give new life to a slow-selling car



    Yes, but only if there are significant changes



    No, it's confusing and dilutes the brand name



    No difference, the product speaks for itself



    Total Votes : 854
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe