Aravind KP first rider to win abroad

    Aravind beat 21 riders to claim the title in Sri Lanka

    Published On Dec 04, 2011 02:33:00 AM


    Aravind KP first rider to win abroad

    Team TVS racing’s Aravind K P won this year’s Sri Lanka Association of Racing Drivers and Riders Championship 2011 (SLARDAR), making him the first Indian rider to win a motocross championship abroad, finishing with a total of 73 points.

    He was felicitated with TVS Racing’s Advisor Racing – R&D, Arvind Pangaonkar, at a ceremony held recently. Aravind fought off 21 riders, including teammates Santosh CS and HK Pradeep, and 2010 UAM Asian champion from Japan, Tomoya Suzuki, for the title. He also won himself an all expense paid trip to watch the Dakar rally later this year.

    “It was a tremendous experience riding in Sri Lanka. I have learnt a lot during this event. It was a great platform for me to fine-tune my riding skills. I have emerged as a much better rider after this event. I am overjoyed to have finished on top of the SLARDAR championship 2011,” Aravind said on receiving the championship trophy.

    Copyright (c) Autocar India. All rights reserved.



    No comments yet. Be the first to comment.

    Ask Autocar Anything about Car and Bike Buying and Maintenance Advices
    Need an expert opinion on your car and bike related queries?
    Ask Now

    Search By Car Price

    Poll of the month

    Would you buy a CNG bike?

    Yes, the running costs are too good to ignore.



    No, CNG comes with too many compromises.



    EVs are more affordable to run and greener



    Total Votes : 536
    Sign up for our newsletter

    Get all the latest updates from the automobile universe